40 Days and 40 Nights

Well, this is embarrassing…or just ironic….

Of course, the day after I post about my tips for staying healthy in the winter, feeling all high and mighty on my soap box as others around me are fending off colds and flu, I wake up with a sore throat. I despise sore throats, it just makes me feel miserable and all I want to do all day is eat in order to soothe the raw feeling in the back of my head. I tried everything from gargling with salt water and Listerine, to throat lozenges, to sore throat relief spray, but nothing actually made me feel normal. I also think I had a fever at some point and I just in general was not feeling well. So, needless to say, I have not been working out and I have not been conscientious about what I eat. However, I feel exponentially better now and it just so happens that it is exactly 4o days until Spring Break.

Now we get to the title of this post. The number 40 is mentioned frequently in the Bible. In most of the instances, the number 40 relates to some kind of testing or probation. The most well-known mention of 40 is when Jesus is tempted by the devil for 40 days and 40 nights. I am going to take on my own test, or temptation experiment for the next 40 days, counting down until my spring break trip to the beach (yes, I will be wearing a bathing suit and be with college boys and girls, scary thought right now). I will not eat sweets, or sugar in general, and do some sort of workout every single day. My challenge is no comparison to what Jesus went through, and it is inevitable that I will fail in some way, since we are all innate sinners, but, I am hoping to find some inspiration or motivation to keep moving forward with getting healthy through what I will call my “40 Days and 40 Nights Challenge”.

IMG_0979

Since I have this picture of fruit from breakfast at the cafeteria this week, just though I’d say that fruit will not count as sugar, just thought I’d throw that out there.

Leave a Reply

