Make-Ahead Egg Sandwiches

I have been making breakfast recipes this week that I can store or freeze for a quick on-the-go healthy breakfast when I start work. Today I made healthier versions of Egg McMuffin sandwiches that you can freeze and just reheat in the microwave on a hectic morning. I used egg whites instead of whole eggs and 100% whole wheat english muffins. I had to use american cheese slices today because that was all we had in the fridge, but usually I would use cheddar cheese slices because I feel like that is less processed and tastes better, in my opinion. I topped them off with a slice of ham instead of bacon. I calculated that it is about 235 calories for one sandwich. Not bad at all! Here is the Recipe:

IMG_1265

Make-Ahead Egg Sandwiches

Recipe adapted from The Yummy Life

Ingredients:

6 whole wheat english muffins

18 Tablespoons egg whites

6 slices cheddar cheese

6 slices ham

salt

pepper

 

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

 

IMG_1251

2. Toast all english muffins either in a toaster or under a broiler.

IMG_1253

3. Spray 6 ramekins with non-stick cooking spray.

IMG_1252

 

4. Measure 3 tablespoons of egg whites into each ramekin and season with salt and pepper.

5. Bake the egg whites in the oven for 25-30 minutes.

IMG_1256

IMG_1258

6. Build 6 sandwiches by layering the egg white, cheese, and ham onto english muffin.

IMG_1259

IMG_1260

IMG_1261

IMG_1262

7. Wrap in parchment paper and freeze.

IMG_1267IMG_1268

To eat, just reheat sandwich and enjoy!

IMG_1263

IMG_1264

IMG_1265

IMG_1266

Leave a Reply

